“Eco-terrorism,” Cialis and I-phones?

by Will Potter on April 13, 2007

in Activism & Activists' Response

Did spammers buy/hack earthliberationfront.com, the domain constantly listed as the portal website for a “shadowy eco-terrorist group”? Or are “shadowy eco-terrorists” hawking Viagra?

This is from the post I saw at Quixoticals.com:

Hidden within the relevant news, I couldn’t help but wonder why environmentalists were so concerned with Cialis. Was this a problem with lack of protein? Well, then I discovered links to Pink Floyd posters, the iPhone lawsuit, and used panties. Then it hit me: whoever designed this website made pretty damn sure to beat Wikipedia in the Google search rankings.

Pretty funny, I thought… until I saw that the author of that blog links to GreenIsTheNewRed.com as the “ELF’s own website.” HUH? I guess this is the lesson within a lesson about not trusting everything (err, anything) you read on the Internet.

  • http://quixoticals.com Christopher Trottier

    I think this may be a case of mistaken identity. I went to ELF’s Wikipedia site to find their real site and yours came up.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earth_Liberation_Front_%28ELF%29#External_links

    I apologize if in my mistake I was misrepresenting you.

  • http://www.willpotter.com Will Potter

    No hard feelings, Christopher. Thanks for explaining. It looks like this website has been listed under the “external links” section on the Wikipedia entry, right alongside the FBI. Best, Will

Previous post:

Next post: